SCCS 2019


The Student Conference on Conservation Science (SCCS) – Bengaluru was first organised in 2010 by a group of like-minded individuals passionate about encouraging young minds to explore the science and practice of conservation. As a sister conference to SCCS-Cambridge, SCCS-Bengaluru focuses on attracting student participants, primarily from countries in South and South-east Asia, and Africa. The conference is a multi-day event designed to encourage exchange of research ideas, technical knowledge, and experience related to conservation.
SCCS-Bengaluru 2019 is a four-day conference that includes workshops, plenary talks, student poster presentations and talks, and various activities aimed at networking and introduction to numerous national and international institutions and organisations involved in conservation and conservation research. Of these, the plenary sessions scheduled for each evening are open for free public attendance.

The SCCS family comprises the international sister conferences held in Cambridge, Australia, Bangalore, New York and Hungary aimed solely at students — the first of its kind. More information about the sister conferences can be found here.


SCCS-Bengaluru is co-organised and hosted by the Indian Institute of Science, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Foundation for Ecological Security and Nature Conservation Foundation.

The core responsibilities are handled by the Organising Committee with support from an Advisory Committee and an Administrative & Support Team. Aside from these teams, a huge number of volunteers dedicate their time to ensuring the smooth day-to-day running of the conference.

Hear what our previous conference administrator had to say!

Organising Committee

  • R. Sukumar (Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science)
  • Uma Ramakrishnan (National Centre for Biological Sciences)
  • Shomen Mukherjee (Azim Premji University)
  • Tarsh Thekaekara (The Shola Trust)
  • Suhel Quader (Nature Conservation Foundation)
  • Abinand Reddy (Nature Conservation Foundation)
  • Vani Srikanta (Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment)
  • Marianne Manuel (Dakshin Foundation)

Advisory Committee

Administrative & Support Team